Samuel Moleshioa was a surprise winner in the 26th Forever Resorts Loskop 50km ultra-marathon in a time of two hours 44 minutes 43 seconds missing the record by 40 seconds.

The 3500 runners lined up in cool overcast conditions that turned to rain in the second half making for fast times.

“I took lead from 16 km. I tested the guys to see what they would do, but all seemed tired and would not follow me; so I went alone through to the finish,” said Moleshioa who is a member of the Anmar club, which is chaired by Comrades Gold medalist Johan Oosthuizen.

It was Oosthuizen who inspired the 25 year old worker at Middleberg Primary School into the race, leaving him as surprised as the crowd that he took line honours.  “I do not know what I will do with the prize money as I did not expect to win.”

Although he takes home R10,000 there was almost a R100,000 bonus.  Cramping as he crested the tough Varaday’s two kilometre climb to 48km, Moleshioa was forced to a 30 metre walk.

Zimbabwean Cephas Pasipamire was a distant second in two hours 47 minutes and 32 seconds with a fleet-footed Elias Mabane securing the third place overall and eclipsing the veterans record of 2:50:09 set by Issac Tshabalala in 2002, with his 2:47:53.

With third place, first veteran and the record bonus Mabane’s pay-day outshone the winner taking home R21500.

The 2009 Loskop and 2010 Old Mutual Om Die Dam winner, Chiyedsa Chokore regained her title in a time of 3:23:29, almost 11 minutes clear of her cousin and the 2008 winner Muchanteta Gwata.

The race was virtually won from the gun to tape which the Mr Price athlete felt may have cost a record attempt. “There was no-one willing to come with me, perhaps if Gwata had pushed we could have got closer to the record in these conditions,” said Chokore

Julanie Basson of the powerful Toyota club was first of the South African behind the two Zimbabweans ladies.

Just under 1500 runners took in the fifth Forever Half marathon which mixes road and off road racing over a tough course around the Loskop dam.

Wirimat Juwawu running as an independent opened a 100 metre gap over Eskom Gijimas’ Amos Thenjekwayo to break the line in one hour ten minutes and 14 seconds, with Bashewa’s Millen Matende third in 1:11:15.

Zola Pieterse continues her tour of the country. The legendary bare-foot runner was second in the half marathon almost eleven minutes adrift from Bashewa’s Olivia Chitate, and added the 40-49 age category award in 1:37:21.

Chitate’s winning time was one hour 26 minutes 49 seconds.

Men 1 Samuel Moleshioa Anmar 2;44:43, 2 Cephas Pasipamire Nedbank 2;:47:32, Elias Mabane Bidvest 2:47:53, 4 Leonard Koki Nedbank 2:49:15, 5 Peter Tadziripa IND 2:51:34, 6 Eliya Mogoboya Nedbank 2:56;42, 7 Samuel Ongaki Nedbank 2:57:03, 8 Claude Moshiywa Nedbank 2:57;38, 9 Samuel Mashishi ADT 2:58:23, 10 Fusi Nkutha Nedbank 3:03:29 40-49 1 Elias Mabane Bidvest 2:47:53, 2 Reginald Ngobese Striders 3:06:35, 3 Jeffrey Chabalala Giyani 3:11:06 50-59 1 Bernard Matela Matla 3:17:41 2 Eloi de Oliveria Boxer 3:30:22, 3 Gideon Radebe Sasaol 3:31:46 60+ Don Charles Nedbank 3:53:04 Ladies : 1 Chiyedsa Chokore Mr price 3:23:29, 2 Muchaneta Gwata Mr Price 3:34:15, 3 Julanie Basson Toyota 3:37:24, 4 Lesley Train Nedbank 3:42:08, 5 Gillian Sieling Nedbank 3:47:30, 6 Salome Brits Toyota 3:53:48, 7 Ansie Viljoen Irene 3:54:10, 8 Davera Magson Nedbank EP 3:54:36, 9 Lindsay van Aswegen Toyota 3:56:06, 10 Melanie Kruger New balance 3:56:06 40-49 1 Gillian Sieling Nedbank 3:47:30, 2 Ansie Viljoen Irene 3:54:10, 3 Lindsay van Aswegen Toyota 3:56:06. 50-59 1 Norma Crampton 4:12:46, 2 Francis van Blerk Nedbank 4:19:52, 3 Valerie Watson New Balance 4:21:00, 60+ Penny Visser Breakthru Midrand 4:47:05 21km Men: 1 Wirimat Juwawu IND 1;10:14, 2 Amos Thenjekwayo 1:10:40, 3 Millen Matende Bashewa 1:11:15, 4 Charles Soza Bashewa 1:11:38, 5 Ntuthuko Maseko Nedbank 1;11:56 ladies : 1 olivia Chitate Bashewa 1:26:49, 2 Zola Pieterse Bloemfontein Achillies 1:37:21, 3 Grace de Oliveira Boxer 1:40:26, 4 Mishelene Lagerwall New Balance 1:47:33, 5 Florence Molawa Arcelor Mittal 1:48:45

Leave a Reply